Caroline – The Bohemian One

For wintery style, I love to wear cardigans. The bigger the better is my philosophy and that means they are warmer! Sweaters knitted to be all chunky and funky looking are the best for a bohemian look. A la the Olsen twins, who so expertly layer and layer sweaters over their tiny frames. Honestly, with sweaters, the more funkier the better, because you can really make your sweater your signature piece and frame the rest of your outfit around it. Free People has some of my favorite sweaters for the fall and winter seasons and here are some examples.

Image Source: Free People

This sweater is AMAZING for layering in winter, but could also be perfect for a light layer in the summertime. Plus, how cool are her accessories?

Image Source: Free People

This sweater is beyond just something you’d pick up at a store, this is a real piece you’d find at a cool vintage or antique store. I love how it looks worn in and almost like your grandma made it 🙂 It could be simply paired with some of your favorite jeans, camel boots, and a simple top. This sweater does all the work for you.

I also have to admit that I am 100% completely in love with boots for the fall and winter. It is hard not to see a pair when walking around. My favorite kind of boots are the ones that look like they’ve done a lot of walking themselves, like they have their own stories to tell. Frye boots have always been a bohemian staple. Bikers love them, cowboys rock them, and fashionistas kill in them. Their bestseller, the Harness, is both manly and feminine; both brawn and beauty.

Image Source: The Frye Company

What’s not to love? I could definitely see these boots over a pair of rugged jeans or under a delicate prairie skirt. As always, a pair of warm, snuggly socks is always suggested, so maybe go up a size in the boot. Your feet will be warm, fashionable, and protected from the elements!

Stay Warm! XO

McCall – The Trendsetter

Fur is the hottest trend this winter, whether it be real or faux, it’s always hot. There are many ways to wear fur this season ranging from lined hoods, vests, and coats. Fur looks great wearing pants, skirts, jeans, anything! It’s the perfect way to look ultra-fashionable.

From Gucci collection, this coat channels the 70’s with a midi length skirt.

Image source: millionlooks.com

 Leather and fur always go together and the combination is trendy this fall and winter. This look comes from Brioni.

Image source: millionlooks.com

If you don’t want to wear a full fur coat, you can opt for a feminine look and wear a coat or jacket with fur trim or a fur vest. Below Michael Kors shows a beautiful option.

Image source: millionlooks.com

Challenge your style comfort zone and warm up to the hottest new trend!

Courtesy of Google Images

Shanté Fenique – The Glamourista

Being from Chicago I’m no stranger to the cold weather. I prefer winter to summer because although you can never get cool enough in the summer, you can always get warm enough in the winter. I have a host of coats in my closet and I’m always buying new boots. One of my favorite things about winter is definitely the accessories. I love hats, gloves and as I’ve said before I love scarves. I’m completely addicted to scarves in every season. I could talk all about what to wear this winter but if I have to pick my two favorite things for winter that keep you fashionably warm I say sweater dresses and tights/stockings.

Sweater dresses and tights are staples in my wardrobe. I love to rock a fitted sweater dress that shows my shape but keeps me warm. I love having my legs out because I’m addicted to keeping them in beautiful shape. Tights or stockings allow me to do that but stay undoubtedly warm.

Courtesy of Google Images

Courtesy of Google Images

Above are sweater dresses of all different styles and makes. The versatility and what you find is limitless. They are chic and they will keep you warm.

Image Courtesy of Who What Wear

Courtesy of Google Images

A few years back patterned tights were all the rage and they still are very trendy. It’s always fun to wear them will hanging with friends, running errands or hanging out with a boy. They are like artwork for the legs. When in doubt though, there are nothing like the classic black, navy or nude tight. Works everytime.

Brooke – The All-American

It absolutely amazes me how amidst all the big furs and neon colored stockings, a classic fashion for winter still remains. One of the classic winter looks I appreciate is the sweater. A sweater can be interpretted in so many ways! Whether it be a fantastic sweater dress or a simple chanel neckline cardigan, women will be seen wearing them for a lifetime. This sweater dress is a fantastic piece! I love how it is updated with ankle boots. I could totally see myself wearing this with a vintage rain coat and a ‘pop of color’ scarf walking around campus!

Courtesy of Google Images

Like I mentioned before, I am also a huge fan of the classic chanel neckline cardigan! This look can be dressed up and dressed down depending on the styling of your outfit. I’ve worn them with a black wide leg pant and my finest jewelry, or with a skinny jean and sperrys!  

 

This is how I would style my cardigan for a casual day.

Courtesy of Google Images

Courtesy of Google Images

 It’s bitter sweet here in Columbia, MO as the weather continues to get colder. However, I enjoy being able to switch over to my winter wardrobe and begin styling outfits that have been out of the question since last February!