Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Caroline – The Bohemian One

Finally! The much anticipated Victoria’s Secret Fashion Show arrived! Like every year, the Angels never disappoint.  From the 2.5 million dollar Fantasy Treasure Bra to the amazing performers, VS made sure their tenth annual show would be one to remember.

Image Source: mashable.com

 Personally, I pay less attention to the bras and panties, but focus all of my attention on the wonderful costumery. Each piece takes a year to design, create, and then make perfect for each model. I love the different themes that they play up and make dramatic. It is more than a fashion show; it’s like a play or festival. I found the Aquatic Angels to be absolutely breathtaking. They molded all little girls’ fantasies of becoming a mermaid into fruition in the most austere and ethereal manner.

Image Source: frillstothrils.blogspot.com

The Super Angels segment was also one of my favorites, because instead of “supermodels”, the angels were fulfilling fantasies of being the latest heroines in the pages of a DC comic strip. I adored how playful the models were and how powerful they looked.

Image Source: frillsandthrills.blogspot.com

So much fun! I am already patiently awaiting next years show to see what the designers conjure up! XO

McCall – The Trend Setter

I look forward to the Victoria’s Secret Fashion Show each year. Each year the show gets more and more extravagant, exciting, and big. This year was no exception. The Lexington Avenue Armory in New York City on November 9th was full of beauty, live music, and impossibly perfect models done up in makeup, lingerie, and wings. The show featured 38 models, 31 wings, and 69 different looks. The show was broken up into six different themes, one for each collection: Ballet, Super Angels, Passion, Aquatic Angels, I Put a Spell on You, and Club Pink.

The I Put a Spell on You collection was on of my favorites. The pieces were seductive yet innocent as well as mysterious and very sexy. Adriana Lima wore an amazing black and purple lingerie set with huge black feather-like wings that completed the outfit- she looked incredible!

Image Source: columbusalive.com

The entire collection was full of beautiful, dark, sexy and creative pieces. Here are some of my favorites from the I Put a Spell on You theme:

Image Source: columbusalive.com

Image Source: columbusalive.com

Image Source: columbusalive.com

Shanté Fenique – The Glamorista

I know a lot of people who look forward to the Victoria Secret Fashion Show. My twitter timeline was filled with excitement. I will be honest because honesty is all I know, the Victoria Secret Fashion Show isn’t something I am obsessed with but I watch it. I love shopping at Victoria Secret because they cater to women and help us release our “swexy” very well (Swexy = swagger + sexy). This year I was looking forward to the Kanye West and Jay Z performance and fabulous articles of beauty in the form of lingerie. The theme I chose was Aquatic. It was dream-like and glamorous all at once.

Courtesy of the Examiner

This is the 2.5 million dollar bra worn by Miranda Kerr.

Courtesy of the Examiner

This undersea them is very relevant. Many of the spring 2012 runways had undersea themes.

Courtesy of FashionoftheYear.com

I love the simplicity yet glamorous sex appeal of this one.

Below is the video of The Aquatic Angels just in case you missed it.

 Brooke- The All American

I was presently surprised as I watched the Victoria Secret fashion show this year! As I mentioned before, ballet is one of my major inspirations when it comes to fashion. Needless to say I was floured when the opening line of the show was inspired by ballet as well! Many of the looks had classic ballet silhouettes with modern accessories.  I was very impressed with the designer’s ability to incorporate ballet in the fashion without it looking ‘costumey’.

                Below is one of my favorite looks! Candice Swanepoel looked beautiful wearing this whimsical interpretation of ballet. This piece is impeccable from the feather details to the red lace up shoes. As I watched this portion of the show I couldn’t help but wonder where the designers found their inspiration to create such a literal fashion line.

Courtesy of Google Images

As the model below took her walk on the runway it hit me; the designers were obviously inspired by the hit movie of 2010: Black Swan! Both Natalie Portman and Mila Kunis looked incredibly fierce and chic wearing their ballet ensembles. The incorporation of feathers and crystal details looked fabulous in both the fashion show and the movie. No wonder the designers wanted to incorporate a ballet theme in the 2011 Victoria’s Secret fashion show! Below is a photo to compare the similar fashions from the fashion show and the movie Black Swan.

Courtesy of Google Images

Below is Natalie Portman from the movie Black Swan.
Courtesy of Google Images

Ballerinas have embodied classic beauty for centuries; the models on the runway did an amazing job projecting the same type of classic beauty. The 2011 Victoria’s Secret fashion show left me with only one disappointment- now I have to wait another 365 days until the next one! Nevertheless, I am more than excited to see what next year’s show has in store for us.

